The Wedding Vow

4“Fear not, for you will not be ashamed; be not confounded, for you will not be disgraced; for you will forget the shame of your youth, and the reproach of your widowhood you will remember no more. 5For your Maker is your husband, the LORD of hosts is his name; and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer, the God of the whole earth he is called. 6For the LORD has called you like a wife deserted and grieved in spirit, like a wife of youth when she is cast off, says your God. 7For a brief moment I deserted you, but with great compassion I will gather you. 8In overflowing anger for a moment I hid my face from you, but with everlasting love I will have compassion on you,” says the LORD, your Redeemer.  - Isaiah 54:4-8, ESV -
4 “Fear not, for you will not be ashamed; be not confounded, for you will not be disgraced; for you will forget the shame of your youth, and the reproach of your widowhood you will remember no more. 5 For your Maker is your husband,
the LORD of hosts is his name; and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer, the God of the whole earth he is called.
6 For the LORD has called you like a wife deserted and grieved in spirit, like a wife of youth when she is cast off,
says your God. 7 For a brief moment I deserted you,
but with great compassion I will gather you. 8 In overflowing anger for a moment I hid my face from you, but with everlasting love I will have compassion on you,”
says the LORD, your Redeemer.
– Isaiah 54:4-8, English Standard Version –

The moment I laid my eyes on you, I could not be any happier because, finally, there you are shining radiantly with all such smiles.

In my eyes, you are perfect – far beyond  every word could ever explain. You are my precious darling, my one and only – the one whose character I have seen grown from glory to glory.

I have seen your walk, your every steps, your every journey and I have always delighted myself watching you – even from afar. For me, every moment we spend together adds up to the lifetime we are going to share..in eternity.

I love you.

I love you in spite and despite of your inconsistencies, even if you fail to show how much you love me in return…even if you do not love me back or forget me. I love you in spite of your unfaithfulness or the lack of faith, sometimes. I love you despite of your forgetfulness of the times we shared together.

I love you — even if the whole universe conspired to turn itself into the most beautiful being ever created. I love you not because of anything, but because you are you: the apple of my eyes, the one whom I adore. Far be it from the multitude of stars in the night sky that I’ll turn away from you.

I love you with an everlasting, unfailing love.

I love you in spite of your past that you keep on hiding from me. From your innermost being, to your thoughts inside and out, I love you with a love eternal..even to the grave.

You see, I even give my life to you, for you — that even if it meant death, loving you will always be my first and last option — and nothing else. Lest you forget, I will still love you without buts or ifs…my love for you remains the same yesterday, today and forever.

Look! I have even engraved your name on the palm of my hands! That’s how lovable and precious you are to me.

My dearest bride, don’t you ever forget that you are incomparable to the vastness of the universe! Should you stand between Orion, Sirius or Pleiades combined or the most beautiful sunrise or sunset and a star-filled sky, I will choose you, nonetheless.

I will carry you and lift you up from that mire. I will uphold and protect you because from the onset, you are mine and will always be forever…

Love, 

Jesus Christ

Leave a Reply

