The Anguish Of A Waiting Parent

Your parents – have you ever thought about them?

Photo not mine. Source: google.com

When you think of your parents, do you see them as authoritarian or someone who cares for you? Do you see their “sermons”  as an act of love or as something to intrude your daily activities? Our parents may love us in one way or another and they can show it in thousands of ways. They may sometimes do not understand you or the other way around. But think of it this way, if you are on their shoes, what would you do?

Maybe we do not understand it right now but once parents worry, they seem to move heaven and earth searching for you. Perhaps, you are asking: “why do may parents overact when I’m just a minute or two late? O.A talaga?!” or “how come my parents are so strict when my friends’ parents are not?” or “bakit yung ibang friends ko allowed na sila to be in a relationship? I’m 16. I think I can handle a relationship.”

Sometimes, I liken parents into shepherds. They will search everything and everywhere just to find you. That is why, there’s the anguish and that “over reaction” when you don’t go home as expected. I am not a parent myself and I could say, I am not “Miss Little Good Shoes” either, but I know how my parents suffer when I or my siblings was late from school. My parents are not that  demonstrative (physically) but I still thank them for raising us up. Though not perfect, I believe that they are still the best parents around.

The Bible is right when it says: “Honor your father and your mother, as the LORD your God has commanded you, so that you may live long and that it may go well with you in the land the LORD your God is giving you. – Deuterenomy 5:16

Honoring your parents, I believe, starts when we understand the brevity of the life that we have here on earth. It begins when we acknowledge the fact that at some point of our lives, we may lose them unknowingly. Every moment with our parents count, and those moments must always be cherished. Yes, our parents may be overreacting or nagging at times, but always think – THEY JUST WANT THE BEST FOR YOU. It’s building trust to the people (in this case, your parents) who know far better than you. Forget about generation gap or this-is-a-different-world-now reason, but with all honesty, YOUR PARENTS KNOW WHAT’S THE BEST FOR YOU. 

Our relationship with our parents it seems is like a “shadow” (for lack of a good word to use) of our relationship with God. You may say, “God is all sovereign” or “Iba naman si God; iba rin yung parents ko.”, but come to think of it – there are times when we do not understand how God works in our lives yet we learn to trust Him. We  often wonder why about the way God moves in our daily lives, but we also know that “…in all things God works for the good of those who live him…” (Romans 8:28, NIV). How about our parents? Whose parents will favor bad things over their children? Don’t they, like our Father God, want good things (if not, the BEST) for us?

I do not come from a well-to-do family but I simply appreciate the fact that even though my parents’ background were not as good as others, they passed on to us the principles and the good values that I grew up with – values that I know, I can also pass on to my future children.

A parent waiting for a child to come home. Ask any parent about the stress or the anguish they feel whenever a child does not come home on time. Try to feel and be in their shoes.

Perhaps, if all of us would understand how short this life is, we will value, love, obey, trust, and understand them more than we dismiss their nagging or their “sermon” at times you miss going home early.

If you are reading this,  I hope you will show your parents how much you love them. It’s not too late, either.

Leave a Reply

